Photos vs Photo Stream

There's a subtle distinction between the Photos and Photo Stream tabs in the Photos app. Any pictures or screen shots that appear in the first were taken on your iPad. If you have an iCloud account and you've enabled Photo Stream (tap Settings | iCloud | Photo Stream) they'll be immediately copied to Apple's servers and from there synchronized to all of your other iOS devices.
At the same time, any photos that originated on your other devices will be synchronized via the server back to your iPad. They are the pictures that you'll see when you open Photo Stream.

Your photo stream will store a maximum of 1000 images from the last 30 days. Any that are older than that are deleted from the Stream, but won't be removed from the device on which they were shot. So, photos taken on your iPhone will appear on your iPad's Photo Stream, but if you don't want it to disappear from the Photo Stream there you’ll need to tap Edit, then the photo, then the Save button to store them on your iPad permanently.


How to create and manage albums

Some albums are created automatically, such as Camera Roll and a folder of edited images maintained by iPhoto for iOS. However, you can also create your own, which makes the task of managing your photos much simpler as you can break them down into logical groups.
Tap the Albums tab, followed by the '+' at the top of the screen. Give your new album a name and tap Save. You now need to decide which images it should contain. Browse the Photos and Photo Stream tabs, tapping on the photos you want to add to the album. Tap Done when you have finished.
You can add further images to the album later by opening the Album and tapping Edit | Add Photos, and remove images by tapping Edit, selecting the photos to delete, and tapping Remove. They're released from the album, but not physically deleted from your iPad, so you'll still find them in the regular Photos tab.

How to delete photos

To remove images entirely from your iPad, go to the Album or Photo Stream where they're stored and tap Edit, then tap on each of the images to be deleted. Complete the process by tapping the red Delete button, followed by Delete Selected Photos to confirm the action.


How to create and manage albums
Some albums are created automatically, such as Camera Roll and a folder of edited images maintained by iPhoto for iOS. However, you can also create your own, which makes the task of managing your photos much simpler as you can break them down into logical groups.

Tap the Albums tab, followed by the '+' at the top of the screen. Give your new album a name and tap Save. You now need to decide which images it should contain. Browse the Photos and Photo Stream tabs, tapping on the photos you want to add to the album. Tap Done when you have finished.

You can add further images to the album later by opening the Album and tapping Edit | Add Photos, and remove images by tapping Edit, selecting the photos to delete, and tapping Remove. They're deleted from the album, but not from your iPad, so you'll still find them in the regular Photos tab.


Deleting Photos

To remove images entirely from your iPad, go to the Album or Photo Stream where they're stored and tap Edit, then tap on each of the images to be deleted. Complete the process by tapping the red Delete button, followed by Delete Selected Photos to confirm the action.

Deleting images is simply a matter of selecting which ones you want to get rid of and confirming the action. If you have Photo Stream active then any you delete by accident can be recovered from iCloud.

Share photos with iPad
Share photos with iPad


How to share photos

You probably noticed that the button beside Delete was labelled 'Share'. Its function is obvious, but it's worth exploring its options as iOS 6 massively extended the integrated sharing tools. The ones that are open to you depend on how many images you have selected.

Select just one and you can use the full range: Twitter, Facebook, Email or Message, alongside the option to print or copy it, use it as wallpaper or the icon for a contact, and to save it to a shared Photo Stream. Shared Photo streams are published online, with a public URL you can pass on to friends and family with whom you want to share your image. They are turned off by default, so if you want to use this feature, activate it through Settings | iCloud | Photo Stream | Shared Photo Streams.

Select more than one but fewer than five images and the Twitter option disappears. Select more than five and you lose the option to email your images.

Note that just as Twitter was built in to iOS 5 at the core, the same is now true of Facebook, which means you can post direct to these two social networks from the default iOS apps without using a third-party client. If you're a member of either network, authorize iOS to post to your account through the Settings app. You’ll find the entries for Twitter and Facebook half way down the left hand column.

The range of sharing options open to you depends on the number of images you have selected at any one time. With just one selected or open you can use every option built in to iOS 6.